Meeting Between Governor Raskin and the Missouri Bankers Association September 22, 2011

Participants: Governor Sarah Bloom Raskin (Federal Reserve Board member); and Madelyn Marchessault and Katie Ross (Federal Reserve Board staff)

Missouri Bankers Association members: Robert Barrett, Susan Barrett, Kyle Burch, Ewart Burch, Carl Cook Jr., Christine Dale, William Dana Jr., John Everett, Bradley Gregory, John Harlin, Jeremy Heisel, Molly Hyland, Michael Jenkins, John Klebba, Kenneth Littlefield, Julie Loughary, Brice Luetkemeyer, David McClure, William Murray, James Neill, Thomas O'Neal, Nathan Purdome, Donnell Reid, Forest Reynolds, Daniel Robb, Dianna Robb, James Robinson, Matthew Sebastian, Marylyn Shiver, James Smith, Kathleen Stewart, Joseph Stewart III, Joseph Stewart Jr., Timothy Thompson, Mark Thompson, Byron Thompson, Joan Thompson, David Tribble, Lisa Tribble, Alma Tritten, Billy Trivitt, and Robert Morgan (American Bankers Association representative)

Summary: Members of the Missouri Bankers Association met with Governor Raskin to discuss regulatory requirements under the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act ("Dodd-Frank"). Association members expressed heightened concern about the regulatory burden associated with current and pending Dodd-Frank rulemakings, and they noted that compliance costs were particularly onerous for small community banks. Members also raised concerns about the potential liability for lenders under the Board's proposed amendments to Regulation Z (Docket No. R-1417). They requested that the final rule include exemptions for certain types of loans or institutions, as well as safe harbors. Association members said credit availability for consumers would likely be reduced as a result of this proposal and other regulatory actions.